Andy the Artist, a artist book in loving memory of a friend

This is one of my artists books, completed my final year of art school in 1997. That year a friend and talented artist, Andrew Melk passed away.

I wrote and illustrated this book while sitting at the kitchen table over the course of a couple of weeks following the loss. I did not edit it or work at straightening anything, it’s just an off the cuff ode to artists inspired by Andy. Below is a hyperlink to that book which I have digitized.

Andy the Artist

I’ve recently taken a class about scholarly publishing in an open access model. Though most would not consider this a scholarly work, it is to me to some degree, so I have decided to share it in its entirety digitally. I only ask that if you copy this or share it that you credit me as it remains my original work. The software I used to turn this pdf into a book (with page turning) is free, called issuu. issuu.com

Cheers and much gratitude to the artists in this world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Andy the Artist, a artist book in loving memory of a friend

  1. Charlie Melk says:

    Thanks a lot for doing this, Katie. My name is Charlie Melk, and I’m Andy’s brother. I think about Andy every day, and it is very cool to see his legacy live on in his friends. It would make him smile, and it makes me smile too.

Leave a Reply

